ERASMUS ? WHAT IS IT ?

27939088_1606997326046065_1704290840_n

Welcome back 😉 Today I want to talk little bit about Erasmus. A lot of you probably don’t know what Erasmus is, so I decided to explain what it is. Erasmus is more European thing so if you are from another part of the world it is normal that you don’t know what it is. If you are interested in this I hope I will be helpful.

Erasmus is basically an European project that lets you go abroad for study or internship for  two semesters or only one semester. You can go to any European country that your college or university has connection with. In my case I could go only for one semester and my main destination was Spain because I want to teach Spanish in future.

Erasmus can be very expensive, you have to rent a room, you have to pay for your bills, and you obviously have to eat and have some fun sometimes. There is a solution for that. There is something called Erasmus Grant. Everyone can apply for it but unfortunately the money you will get are very little, you will probably be able to pay for your rent with it. For people who are living in Ireland there is another solution it is called SUSI grant. Not everyone can apply for this grant, but you can always try. If you want to know more about it check their website.

Erasmus is a great opportunity to live in a different country for a while and meet people from different cultures.  It is also a good opportunity for improving the language you are learning. I’m studying European Studies and Spanish. I never had any problems with Spanish and I thought that my Spanish is good, but when I came here I realized how much I can’t understand. After a week of listening to Spanish for almost all day I slowly got used to it and I could understand more. Thank god most of my subjects are actually English friendly.

Erasmus is also a very good opportunity to travel. It’s my first time in Spain. I will travel as much as I will be able to. I’m going to Malaga for Easter, can’t wait for that. You can travel as much as you want in your free time. I have to say that buses in Spain are very cheap, so if you want to travel in Spain ,I think that buses are the cheapest option.

If you have an option to go for Erasmus, I think you should take this opportunity. Now days experience is very important. It looks very good on your CV and it might give you more chance to get the job you really want. Erasmus makes you more independent because you have to find everything by yourself and take care of yourself. You can learn a lot about yourself while you are alone and so far away from the people you love. I learned that I hate traveling on my own, I hate big changes in my life and that I miss my little cat more than I thought. There are good and bad things about Erasmus but honestly I think that Erasmus is great and people should take the advantage of it.

This is all for today. If you have any more questions feel free to ask. Follow me on my Instagram and if you want to stay longer with me follow me here 😉 See you soon :*

 

Leave a comment