ERASMUS ESSENTIALS

DSC_0032

Welcome back 🙂 Last time I talked a little bit about Erasmus and what it is.

Today I want to talk about some essentials that will help you to feel better when you go abroad. I was looking for a similar videos on YouTube or blog posts on Google but I couldn’t find many. I decided to do this post because I wish I knew about many things before I came here, I think it can help people who will be going on their Erasmus in future. I will not be talking about the documents because there is a lot and I’m sure someone at your college or university will tell you a lot about it. This photo shows  my favorite building in this university :O It’s so big and so beautiful :O It looks like a castle.

Family

I think that friends and family are essential when you are going away. When I came here I was talking a lot with my family. I felt so much better after talking with them because they made me feel that even though we are so far away I’m not alone. I talk with them almost everyday. It is very important to keep in touch with your family, especially during the first few days when you feel lonely. It is important to talk with them about your problems, they might help you to solve them.

New friends 

Friends are just as important as family. Bad thing is that you can’t bring your friends to the place where you are going to. It is very important to be open to other people. You will meet a lot of people who are in the same situation as you. You will have a lot to talk about with the people you will meet. They will have very similar problems, their language level might not be as high so you can learn together or they could be from the same country as you. I was very surprised when I met some of the people and I became friend with some of them.

Taste of home

For me it was very important to bring some kind of food or drink that I would normally have at home. Normally I drink a lot of tea. I brought some green tea with me. That made me feel a little bit better. It wasn’t the same because I usually sit with my mum and we drink tea together, but at least I could have my tea and that made me very happy. I think if you bring you favorite snack or drink it will help you during your first few days. Believe me you will miss the food and drink from your country.

Find something to do

At the start it will be hard I know. It’s important to make yourself busy if you want your time to fly faster. When I arrived here I seriously did not know what to do with myself. I wanted to do something so I would forget that I’m here and the day would end up faster. I called my dad and he told me to start a diary. I had no paper but, I decided to make my little diary here. I think this is a great idea. After the whole thing will end I will read all my posts and probably laugh because I will probably think in a different way. It is important to study and try your best but also to have a life and have some fun.

This is all for today. If you have any questions feel free to contact me 🙂 Follow me on my Instagram if you want more. See you soon :*

 

Leave a comment